Skip to content

The Clear Transition From Early 20’s to Late 20’s

May 9, 2013

I hit a breaking point a few months ago, and I recognized a clear segue between early 20-something Maggie and closer-to-thirty Maggie.  I’ve heard talk of the stark differences between the age of college grad fever and acute-family-making onset, but assumed that I’d be immune to it.  Then I see this cutesy, Girls inspired Buzzfeed article, and I was able to check off each item as if I were self-diagnosing my symptoms.

The tickling urge to party hard late into the wee hours of Saturday and Sunday morning-gone!

Why late 20-somethings don't drink

The ability to eat a heap of ice cream without seeing it instantly implanted on your tummy-gone!

I ate too much ice creami

Not worrying about bills and your financial situation so much because you’re in college and it doesn’t matter-gone!

The stress of living a life with the young person’s “yolo” attitude was becoming quite a burden.  From chain-smoking cigarettes to crushing entire bags of Doritos in one sitting, my arteries were filling up faster than a contestant’s mouth in Nathan’s Hot Dog Eating Challenge.  Add on 8+ hours of daily sitting, tip-tapping on my keyboard, and my life was fast approaching a fate of Sedentary Death Syndrome. (Yes, it’s a real thing!)

I was getting antsy for a change, so I did what most red-blooded Americans do and waited until New Year’s Day to start.  I quit smoking, quit drinking, adapted a mostly vegan diet, and became a fitness freak.

And boy, has it made all the difference.

My breathing alone must be at 5x the capacity it was 5 months ago.  My energy levels are steady all through the day, allowing me to be more productive at work and complete more projects, errands, and chores at night.  Cheerfulness is a new experience.  By taking all of the weight off of my body, I truly feel lighter both mentally and spiritually.

Don’t worry, my vegan diet hasn’t made me all “granola.”  I still eat meat, but only 2-3 times a month, and usually when my family feeds it to me.  I’ve found other ways to be social by cutting out the bars and restaurants, and in return noticed that my true friendships have grown stronger.  I’m 5 months strong for no-smoking, and there is no looking back.

But the biggest thing that has been instrumental in my transformation has been fitness.  Fitness is what keeps me going, what boosts my energy in the morning, and what keeps me strong all the way through.  For the first time in my life I can call myself a runner.  I feel like Gumby with the flexibility I’ve gained from yoga.  People confuse me with Rocky when they see me kickboxing, running, and lifting weights.  I soar like a bird of prey when I hop on my road bike.

I feel strong.

I was inspired to write my testimonial of a total health makeover by this piece of writing I saw, entitled Mama Laughlin.  It’s a great motivator, and I think I may even print it out and put it in my office to refresh my mind and get a burst of positive energy when my fuel tank is running low.  There’s a reason we are  in the middle of a fitness craze–it just feels too darn good!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 9, 2013 2:39 am

    Congrats on your life change. It’s great to hear a post where someone sets out a goal and makes it happen. I stopped smoking a couple months ago and it made such a big difference. Now I am running everyday and eating right and I feel so much better. Good luck with everything and keep pushing.

Leave a Reply

