Skip to content

I’m An Introvert, And That’s OK.

February 20, 2013

I’ve spent a lot of time lately thinking deeply on how I connect with the people in my life, my community, and the world.  In the quiet hours of the morning, while my neighbors slumber peacefully, I begin my morning meditation.  This is a time for me to focus, to breath, and to fill my body and thoughts with positive thinking to fuel my spirit through the day.

By nighttime, I’m exhausted, and I recess into my inner consciousness in the hopes that I can recharge myself to move forward with the daily practice of life productivity. I either settle in with a book, a documentary on Netflix, or the pages of my journal, until my eyelids are too heavy and cave in to the nudging of sleep.

I am an introvert, and I like it that way.

Introvert, Mashael Al-Shuwayer, Flickr

There has always been an anxiety, almost a pressure, within me that tells me that I have to be a social butterfly.  I think to myself, “But I don’t want to be around large crowds of people, why should I do something I don’t want to do?”  Constantly did I feel a nagging that I have to part of something bigger, something outside of myself.  In college, this pressure was so insurmountable that I succumbed.  How did I overcome the discomfort of having a social agenda? Alcohol.

But now college has come and gone, and booze (and cigarettes) are no longer in my diet.  I’ve come to accept my introverted propensity and have silenced the voices that tell me introversion is a negative quality.  Susan Cain helped me with her succinct and well-researched TedTalk on the subject of introverts.

One of the best quotes from her talk was “…solitude is a crucial ingredient to creativity…”  Sure, we need collaboration from time to time, but in the end, it is our alone time that we do our best thinking.  Instead of feeling restless, as if we have to be around people, we have this intense concentration on a certain thought or idea that spurs us to generate insights on a different level.

I’m an introvert, and that’s ok.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

