Skip to content

ELO never gives up

October 18, 2010

While laying awake at 3 a.m. struggling to fall asleep after a hectic and noisy night at my workplace, I  resorted to watching some Netflix to lull myself to sleep.  At this time at night, I tend to pick movies that I know that I will not really want to pay attention to.  On this night, it was Paul Blart: Mall Cop. While Kevin James is the typical fat man whose humor and typecast underdog roles make audiences love him, the writing in this 2009 movie does not do James any justice.

I am no movie critic, and my tearing apart this movie is not the intention of this entry.  Rather, it is to give praise to one of the most influential indie bands of the 70’s and 80’s.  With one of their most prevalent songs, “Mr Blue Sky,” ELO has managed to keep their music alive through generations.  To hear this catchy and upbeat song on Paul Blart: Mall Cop after hearing this song on numerous soundtracks and commercials, I wanted to discover where else ELO’s music stays alive:

Eternal Sunshine on the Spotless Mind (Trailor)

“Dot” A Guinness advertisement

The Invention of Lying

Role Models

Martian Child

2008 Jet Blue advertisement

“Bubble” A Volkswagon advertisement

This is what I have found so far, but to me this is proof enough that ELO still lives on through their cross generational music.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

